which veda mentions about the elements of yoga

  • which veda mentions about the elements of yoga

    Posted by Gokul Thiyagarajan on April 26, 2022 at 3:36 pm

    Yoga is an ancient Indian practice that helps to improve one’s physical, mental and spiritual well-being. There are many different types of yoga, each with its benefits. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, a text dating back to the 2nd century BCE, mentions the eight limbs of yoga, which are designed to help practitioners reach a state of inner peace and enlightenment. These eight limbs are:

    1. Yama – self-restraint or codes of behaviour

    2. Niyama – personal observances or habits

    3. Asana – physical postures

    4. Pranayama – breath control

    5. Pratyahara – sense withdrawal

    6. Dharana – concentration

    7. Dhyana – meditation

    8. Samadhi – absorption or union with the divine

    Yoga can provide many benefits, including improved flexibility, strength and endurance, better breathing, increased energy and concentration, and a sense of calm and well-being. It can also help to reduce stress, anxiety and depression. If you are interested in trying yoga, many different classes and resources are available, both in-person and online. You can also find helpful books and videos that will teach you the basics of yoga and help you get started on your practice.

    Disha Dadala replied 4 months, 3 weeks ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • Disha Dadala

    May 16, 2022 at 8:58 am
    459 Activity Points

    The earliest reference to Yoga is in the Rig-Veda, the oldest of the four Vedas.

Reply to: Gokul Thiyagarajan
Your information:

Start of Discussion
0 of 0 replies June 2018